Bigard Holds Her 19th Matriculation Ceremony

It was with a joyful mood that the seminary on the 12th day of November, 2020 conducted the matriculation ceremony of her 2019/2020 Philosophy students. This great event comes yearly as a necessary program since Bigard Philosophy department is an affiliate of the prestigious University of Ibadan.

The program started around 9am in the Seminary’s auditorium. The opening prayer was said by Rev. Fr Dr. R. Egwu. The anthems: Bigard anthem, Papal anthem, University of Ibadan anthem and National anthem were taken in turns. After that, all were sitted for the ceremony proper.

The rector, Rev. Fr. Dr. Albert  Ikpenwa, represented by the Vice Rector, Rev. Fr. Dr. Melitus Ossai in his welcome address welcomed the staff of the University of Ibadan and those of Bigard Memorial Seminary respectively. He equally congratulated the students who had the honour of being matriculated into the University of Ibadan. He reminded them of the outstanding excellence that the previous students had achieved and enjoined them to strive for greater achievements as they have the opportunity to make remarkable achievements.

The Vice Chancellor of the  University of Ibadan Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka represented by the Director, Directorate of  Affiliated Institutions, Prof. M. K. Akinsola in his matriculation address thanked the Bigard formators and students for maintaining the standard of philosophical studies in the seminary. He noted the pleasant relationship existing between the Seminary and the University and enjoined the seminary to continue in her excellence in all aspects. He congratulated the students and encouraged them to explore every aspect of philosophy as it is a useful intellectual tool for a better society.

The Matriculation Oath was administered around 10 am by the Registrar of the University, Mrs. Olubunmi Faluyi  duly represented by the Deputy Registrar senate, admissions and affiliated institutions, Mrs. Morenike Afolabi.

In all, 100 students were  matriculated  and the whole ceremony ended around 10:40am.